Big Ten Announces Women's Swimmer and Diver of the Week

Dec. 14, 2010

Park Ridge, Ill. - The conference office announced on Tuesday the weekly women's swimming and diving awards. Iowa's Katarina Tour was tabbed the conference's top swimmer of the week while Michigan State's Sarah Clay took home the weekly diving laurel.

Women's Swimmer of the Week
Katarina Tour, Iowa
Sr. - Stockholm, Sweden - Fryshuset Kunskapscentrum

Senior Katarina Tour recorded four first-place finishes for the Hawkeyes in their dual meet against in-state rival Iowa State last Friday. Tour helped capture Iowa's first win of the night in the 200-yard medley relay with a time of 1:42.74, then took the top spot in the 400-yard freestyle relay, recording a time of 3:28.61. The Stockholm, Sweden native won two individual events against the Cyclones. The first came in the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:03.00, and the second came in the 100-yard butterfly, earning a time of 55.56. This marks Tour's first weekly swimming award of her career.

Last Iowa women's Swimmer of the Week: Verity Hicks (Dec. 15, 2009)

Women's Diver of the Week
Sarah Clay - Michigan State
Jr. - Fishers, Ind. - Hamilton SE

Sarah Clay earned her first weekly diving laurel of the season after posting a pair of top-two finishes to lead the Spartans to a 167-125 victory over Ball State last weekend. The Spartan junior posted an NCAA zone qualifying score of 302.86 in the 3-meter competition beating the field by 14.26 points. She followed that performance with a 261.83 mark on the one-meter board, earning a second place finish.

Last Michigan State women's Diver of the Week: Sarah Clay (Dec. 15, 2009)

2010 Big Ten Women's Swimmer/Diver of the Week

Oct. 12
S: Jillian Tyler, Sr., MINN
D: Amanda Lohman, Jr., MICH
Oct. 19
S: Ashley Wanland, Jr., WIS
D: Margaret Keefer, Fr., MINN
Oct. 26
S: Amy Modglin, So., PSU
D: Erin Mertz, Sr., PUR
Nov. 2
S: Adrienne Bicek, So., MICH
S: Rebecka Palm, Fr., WIS
D: Gabby Agostino, Jr., IND
Nov. 9
S: Maggie Meyer, Sr., WIS
D: Erin Mertz, Sr., PUR
Nov. 16
S: Jillian Tyler, Sr., MINN
D: Bianca Alvarez, Jr., OSU
Nov. 23
S: Megan Detro, So., OSU
D: Gabby Agostino, Jr., IND
Dec. 7
S: Maggie Meyer, Sr., WIS
D: Kelci Bryant, Jr., MINN
Dec. 14
S: Katarina Tour, Sr., IOWA
D: Sarah Clay, Jr., MSU