Big Ten Women's Tennis Begins 2011 Schedule This Friday

Jan. 13, 2011

Big Ten women's tennis begins play this weekend, with seven conference teams set to compete for the first time in 2011.

Indiana hits the road to open the campaign, traveling to the three-day Georgia Invitational on Friday. Northwestern and Ohio State begin the season on their home courts on Friday at the Wildcat Spring Invitational and the OSU Varsity Open, respectively.

Four other teams kick off the season on Saturday. Illinois and Purdue travel to Fort Myers, Fla., for the Hilton Garden Inn Eagle Classic, while Iowa competes at the Florida State Seminole Invitational, and Michigan hosts the Michigan Invitational.

The remaining conference squads open the season with dual matches next weekend. Minnesota travels to take on Marshall on Jan. 21, while Penn State hosts Akron, and Wisconsin visits Old Dominion on Jan. 22. Michigan State welcomes IPFW and Detroit to begin its schedule on Jan. 23.

The Big Ten dual-match season begins on Feb. 5 with Northwestern hosting Minnesota. The conference championships are set for April 28-May 1 at Michigan.

The 2011 season outlooks for all 11 Big Ten women's tennis teams can be found below.

Michigan State
Ohio State
Penn State