New Season of Big Ten Women's Tennis Gets Underway Friday

Jan. 14, 2010

The coming weekend marks the beginning of the 2010 Big Ten women’s tennis season as seven conference programs embark on a new season.

The 11-time defending conference champion Northwestern Wildcats open the season Friday as they host the Wildcat Invitational. Meanwhile, Wildcat junior and 2009 women’s tennis Athlete of the Year Maria Mosolova travels west to take part in the National Collegiate Tennis Classic in Palm Springs, Calif.

Three other conference schools begin the new year on Saturday. Illinois travels to Orlando for the Central Florida Invitational, Michigan hosts the Michigan Invitational and Purdue will take part in the Hilton Garden Inn Eagle Invite in Fort Myers, Fla.

Indiana, Minnesota and Wisconsin also begin this weekend as they open the season with duals. The Hoosiers will host Western Michigan and Butler, Minnesota will face Iowa State in a neutral site matchup, and Wisconsin entertains UW-Milwaukee and Northern Illinois.

The conference’s four remaining squads will open the season the following week. Ohio State opens play Jan. 19, Michigan State begins Jan. 22, and Iowa and Penn State take to the court for the first time Jan. 23.

Six Big Ten women’s tennis teams all ranked in the first ITA Women’s National Team Rankings of 2010 released last week. Leading the pack is No. 2 Northwestern, which won its 11th-straight Big Ten Championship in 2009. Entering at No. 20 is Michigan, followed by Illinois at No. 33 and Ohio State at No. 38. Indiana checks in at No. 46 and Minnesota rounds out the ranked Big Ten squads at No. 69.