Big Ten Women's Tennis Opens Spring Slate This Weekend

Jan. 15, 2014


The 2014 Big Ten women’s tennis spring schedule begins tomorrow with 11 schools taking to the court for the first time within the next week. The first school to make its debut will be No. 44 Illinois, which will head to Hawaii Jan. 16-19 for a tournament.

A trio of schools will open the spring season on Jan. 17 as Iowa, No. 15 Northwestern and No. 27 Purdue will all take part in tournaments. The Hawkeyes and defending Big Ten Tournament Champion Wildcats will be in action at the Wildcat Winter Duals in Evanston, Ill., while the Boilermakers will host the Purdue Invite.

No. 41 Indiana and No. 11 Michigan will each take the court on Jan. 18. The Hoosiers will host the IU Winter Invitational while the Wolverines, who claimed a share of the Big Ten Championship last season, will host the Michigan Invitational. No. 72 Ohio State and No. 49 Penn State will also open the season on Jan. 18, with each school taking part in a pair of dual matches.

Michigan State and Minnesota will make their 2014 debuts on Jan. 19 with each hosting a pair of dual matches. Two days later, 25th-ranked Nebraska, which earned a share of the Big Ten Championship in 2013, will open the season with a home dual match against Creighton. Wisconsin will make its debut on Feb. 1 in a dual match at Marquette.

Northwestern and Indiana square off in the first Big Ten dual match of the season on Feb. 20. The Big Ten Tournament, hosted by Northwestern, is scheduled for April 24-27.



Multimedia Store