Big Ten Women's Tennis Tournament Bracket Released

April 23, 2017

Big Ten Women's Tennis Tournament Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference on Sunday announced the bracket for the 2017 Big Ten Women’s Tennis Tournament. Michigan and Ohio State both clinched a share of the Big Ten Women’s Tennis Championship, finishing the season with matching 11-0 records in conference play. The Buckeyes earned the No. 1 seed in the Big Ten Tournament due to their victory over the second-seeded Wolverines on February 17.

The Big Ten Tournament will be hosted by Illinois at the Atkins Tennis Center from Thursday, April 27, through Sunday, April 30.

Northwestern earned the No. 3 seed, while Illinois, Maryland and Michigan State all tied for fourth with 7-4 conference marks. The Illini claimed the No. 4 seed due to their victories over the Terrapins and the Spartans during the regular season. Maryland’s win over Michigan State earned the Terrapins the fifth seed, while the Spartans secured the No. 6 seed. The top six seeds in the tournament receive first-round byes and begin play in Friday’s quarterfinals.

Iowa, Minnesota and Nebraska tied for seventh place with a 5-6 mark in Big Ten play. The Hawkeyes enter the tournament as the No. 7 seed due to a pair of victories over the Gophers and Huskers, while Minnesota secured the No. 8 seed and Nebraska claimed the No. 9 seed. Indiana is the No. 10 seed after finishing the season with a 4-7 mark in conference play.

Minnesota will take on Nebraska in the first round beginning at 11 a.m. ET on Thursday, and will be followed by Iowa versus Indiana. On Friday, Illinois will take on Maryland, while Northwestern will face Michigan State. Ohio State will take on the Minnesota-Nebraska winner, while Michigan will face the winner of the Iowa-Indiana match.

Friday’s quarterfinal matches and Saturday’s semifinals will begin at 11 a.m. First serve for Sunday’s championship match is set for 1 p.m. ET.

BTN will debut live coverage of the Big Ten Women’s Tennis Tournament beginning at 1 p.m. ET on Sunday, April 30.