Big Ten Reveals 2010 Big Ten Women's Tennis Tournament Bracket

April 25, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

PARK RIDGE, Ill. – The seedings and pairings have been determined for the 2010 Big Ten Women’s Tennis Tournament, scheduled to begin Thursday at the Hawkeye Tennis and Recreation Complex on the University of Iowa campus. The top seed in this year’s tournament will be the Michigan Wolverines, who completed the 2010 season with an unblemished 10-0 record in conference play, finished 20-3 overall, and won their first Big Ten Championship since 1997.

The Wolverines ended second-seeded Northwestern’s string of 11 straight conference championships after the Wolverines defeated the Wildcats on April 3. Northwestern (9-1, 18-6) received a first round bye, as did third-seeded Illinois (8-2, 14-8), while fourth-seeded Iowa (6-4, 16-5) will face No. 5 Indiana (5-5, 15-8). The top five teams in the tournament will receive a bye into Friday, while Thursday will feature three matchups.

In opening round play on Thursday, No. 6 Purdue (5-5, 16-5) will take on No. 11 Penn State (0-10, 4-18), No. 7 Ohio State (5-5, 18-8) takes on No. 10 Michigan State (1-9, 7-16), and No. 8 Wisconsin (3-7, 8-15) plays No. 9 Minnesota (3-7, 10-13) in the tournament’s opening round match.