Big Ten Announces Women's Tennis All-Conference Teams and Individual Award Winners

April 25, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

The Big Ten announced its women’s tennis All-Conference teams and individual award winners at the conference tournament banquet on Thursday. Nebraska’s Mary Weatherholt was named Athlete of the Year, while Michigan’s Ronit Yurovsky took home Freshman of the Year honors and the Wolverines’ Ronni Bernstein was tabbed Coach of the Year.
Weatherholt reels in Athlete of the Year accolades for the second consecutive season after going undefeated in Big Ten play, compiling an 11-0 singles record and 9-0 doubles mark. The senior finished with a combined record of 40-2 in singles and doubles play and won three Big Ten Athlete of the Week honors this spring. She closed out the regular season ranked 11th in the country and led the Huskers to a share of their first conference championship and the No. 2 seed in the Big Ten Tournament. Weatherholt becomes the ninth student-athlete to be tabbed Athlete of the Year twice in her career. 
Yurovsky earns Freshman of the Year honors after posting a 9-2 mark in Big Ten singles play and a 7-3 doubles record. The newcomer is currently ranked 48th in the nation and won two Big Ten Athlete of the Week honors this season.  Yurovsky is the sixth Wolverine to be named Freshman of the Year, and the fourth in a row after teammates Emina Bektas, Brooke Bolender and Mimi Nguyen won the award in 2012, 2011 and 2010, respectively.
Bernstein collects her fourth consecutive Coach of the Year award and the eighth in Michigan history. The Wolverine head coach led her team to a 19-4 overall record and a 10-1 ledger in conference play en route to Michigan’s fourth consecutive Big Ten title. The Wolverines are currently ranked sixth in the country and enter the Big Ten Tournament as the No. 1 seed.
Weatherholt and Yurovsky are both unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selections and are joined by Indiana’s Leslie Hureau, Michigan’s Emina Bektas and Penn State’s Petra Januskova as unanimous picks. Also on the first team are Illinois’ Allison Falkin, Indiana’s Katie Klyczek, Iowa’s Ruth Seaborne, Michigan’s Brooke Bolender, Nebraska’s Patricia Veresova and Northwestern’s Belinda Niu and Kate Turvy.
Earning consideration on the second team are Illinois’ Melissa Kopinski, Michigan’s Sarah Lee, Minnesota’s Natallia Pintusava, Nebraska’s Stefanie Weinstein, Northwestern’s Veronica Corning and Purdue’s Mara Schmidt.
The Big Ten also recognized 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.
First-Team All-Big Ten
Allison Falkin, Illinois
Katie Klyczek, Indiana
Ruth Seaborne, Iowa
Brooke Bolender, Michigan
Patricia Veresova, Nebraska
Belinda Niu, Northwestern
Kate Turvy, Northwestern
Second-Team All-Big Ten
Melissa Kopinski, Illinois
Sarah Lee, Michigan
Natallia Pintusava, Minnesota
Stefanie Weinstein, Nebraska
Veronica Corning, Northwestern
Mara Schmidt, Purdue
Unanimous selections in CAPS
Athlete of the Year: Mary Weatherholt, Nebraska
Freshman of the Year: Ronit Yurovsky, Michigan
Coach of the Year: Ronni Bernstein, Michigan
Audrey O’Connor, Illinois
Leslie Hureau, Indiana
Morven McCulloch, Iowa
Sarah Lee, Michigan
Nicole Herzog, Michigan State
Tereza Brichacova, Minnesota
Mary Weatherholt, Nebraska
Veronica Corning, Northwestern
Kelsey Dieters, Ohio State
Jacqueline Zuhse, Penn State
Krisztina Kapitany, Purdue
Helen Rabot, Wisconsin