2011 Big Ten Women's Tennis Tournament Preview

April 27, 2011

Complete Release in PDF Format | Tournament Central | Bracket

All 11 conference teams travel to Ann Arbor, Mich., for the 2011 Big Ten Women's Tennis Tournament this weekend. The tournament, hosted by the University of Michigan, will begin on Thursday and conclude with the championship match on Sunday.

The tournament's first match features eighth-seeded Minnesota against ninth-seeded Iowa on Thursday at 10 a.m. ET. Sixth-seeded Illinois will square off with No. 11 Michigan State and No. 7 Indiana will battle No. 10 Penn State at 1 p.m. to complete first-round action.

Friday's quarterfinals will begin at 10 a.m., with host and top-seeded Michigan taking on the winner of Thursday's Minnesota-Iowa match. Fourth-seeded Ohio State will play No. 5 Wisconsin, also at 10 a.m. Third-seeded Purdue will take on Illinois or Michigan State, while No. 2 Northwestern will face the winner of Indiana and Penn State at 2 p.m.

The tournament semifinals are scheduled for Saturday at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. The championship match will be played on Sunday at Noon and will be broadcast by the Big Ten Network on May 7 at 10 a.m.

Northwestern has won each of the last 12 Big Ten Tournaments and has won 13 tournament titles overall, while Indiana has also taken 13. Michigan and Wisconsin have each claimed one tournament title.