Big Ten Announces Women's Tennis All-Conference Teams and Individual Award Winners

April 28, 2011

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - The Big Ten announced today its women's tennis All-Conference teams and individual award winners at the conference tournament banquet. After winning its second-straight and third overall Big Ten Championship, Michigan swept the individual awards as Denise Muresan was named Athlete of the Year, Brooke Bolender earned Freshman of the Year honors and Ronni Bernstein picked up Coach of the Year laurels.

Muresan reels in Athlete of the Year accolades for the second-straight season after compiling a 30-9 overall singles record and a 25-7 overall doubles mark. The Wolverine senior went 10-0 in Big Ten singles matches and 9-1 in conference doubles contests. Muresan closed out the regular season ranked seventh in the country in singles and is part of the ninth-ranked doubles pair in the nation. She is the fifth Wolverine to earn the award and first Michigan player to receive the honor in back-to-back seasons.

Bolender earns top billing among conference newcomers after racking up a 33-7 overall singles record and a 10-0 mark in conference play. She also posted a 27-8 doubles record this season with a 9-1 record in conference matches. Bolender is the fourth Michigan player to be named Freshman of the Year and the second in a row after teammate Mimi Nguyen won the award in 2010.

Bernstein collects her second consecutive Coach of the Year award and the sixth in Michigan history. The Wolverine head coach led her team to a 20-3 overall record and a 10-0 ledger in conference play en route to the Big Ten title.

Bolender and Muresan were both unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selections and were joined by Iowa's Sonja Molnar and Northwestern's Maria Mosolova and Belinda Niu as unanimous picks. Also on the first team were Illinois' Rachael White, Indiana's Leslie Hureau and Evgeniya Vertesheva, Michigan's Sam Critser and Whitney Taney, Northwestern's Kate Turvy and Penn State's Petra Januskova.



Earning consideration on the inaugural second team All-Big Ten were Illinois' Amy Allin, Michigan State's Amy Barton, Minnesota's Natallia Pintusava, Northwestern's Brittany Wowchuk, Ohio State's Kelsey Haviland, Purdue's Jennifer Rabot and Bhavani Tirumurti and Wisconsin's Jenny Hois.

The Big Ten also recognized 11 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.


First Team All-Big Ten
Rachael White, Illinois
Leslie Hureau, Indiana
Evgeniya Vertesheva, Indiana
Sam Critser, Michigan
Whitney Taney, Michigan
MARIA MOSOLOVA, Northwestern
BELINDA NIU, Northwestern
Kate Turvy, Northwestern
Petra Januskova, Penn State

Second Team All-Big Ten*
Amy Allin, Illinois
Amy Barton, Michigan State
Natallia Pintusava, Minnesota
Brittany Wowchuk, Northwestern
Kelsey Haviland, Ohio State
Jennifer Rabot, Purdue
Bhavani Tirumurti, Purdue
Jenny Hois, Wisconsin

Unanimous selections in CAPS
* - Additional honorees due to a tie

Athlete of the Year: Denise Muresan, Michigan
Freshman of the Year: Brooke Bolender, Michigan
Coach of the Year: Ronni Bernstein, Michigan

Rachael White, Illinois
Kayla Fujimoto, Indiana
Alexis Dorr, Iowa
Mimi Nguyen, Michigan
Dana Guentert, Michigan State
Mariana Spilca, Minnesota
Nida Hamilton, Northwestern
Fidan Manashirova, Ohio State
Marie-Frederique Bedard, Penn State
Imogen Golder, Purdue
Aleksandra Markovic, Wisconsin