Four Big Ten Teams Selected for NCAA Women's Tennis Championship

April 29, 2014


Michigan, Northwestern, Ohio State and Purdue will represent the Big Ten at the NCAA Women’s Tennis Championship, the selection committee announced on Tuesday. The Wildcats received an automatic bid to the championship after winning the Big Ten Tournament while the other three teams earned at-large bids.

Michigan makes its 16th appearance in the NCAA Championship and its 13th in a row. The Wolverines will head to Los Angeles to face Fresno State in the opening match. The winner will advance to take on either No. 16 seed Southern California or Idaho in the second round.

Northwestern earns its 19th consecutive berth to the national tournament and 25th overall. The No. 15 seed Wildcats will host Miami University in the first round with the victor advancing to play the winner of Notre Dame and DePaul.

Ohio State makes its 11th appearance in the NCAA Championship and first since 2010. The Buckeyes will travel to Durham, N.C., to face South Carolina. No. 4 seed Duke or East Tennessee State await the winner in the second round.

Purdue receives its third consecutive berth in the NCAA Championship and seventh overall. The Boilermakers travel to Nashville, Tenn., to take on Georgia Tech in the first round with the winner of No. 9 seed Vanderbilt and Murray State waiting in the second round.

First- and second-round play takes place May 9-10 at campus sites. Subsequent rounds will be played at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga., from May 15-20.