Five Big Ten Teams Selected to NCAA Women's Tennis Championship

April 30, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

Indiana, Michigan, Nebraska, Northwestern and Purdue will represent the Big Ten at the NCAA Women’s Tennis Championship. The selections mark the third time in the last four years the conference has boasted at least five teams in the tournament.

Indiana makes its first appearance in the NCAA Championship since 2010 and 23rd overall. The Hoosiers will take on Vanderbilt in the first round in Clemson, S.C. The winner moves on to play either host and No. 13 seed Clemson or Eastern Kentucky.

Michigan makes its 15th appearance in the NCAA Championship and its 12th in a row. The Wolverines will host first and second rounds and will face IPFW in the opening match. The winner will advance to take on either NC State or Notre Dame in the second round.

Nebraska receives its fourth consecutive berth to the championship and host Wichita State in the first round. The winner advances to take on Tulsa or UNLV in the second round.

Northwestern earns its 18th consecutive berth to the national tournament and 24th overall. The Wildcats will square off against Illinois-Chicago on their home court in the first round with the winner advancing to play the winner of Baylor and San Diego State.

Purdue receives its second consecutive berth in the NCAA Championship and sixth overall. The Boilermakers travel to Coral Gables, Fla., to take on South Carolina in the first round with the winner of Miami (Fla.) and North Florida waiting in the second round.

First- and second-round play takes place May 10-13 at campus sites. The winner of each sites advances to the round of 16 at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex in Urbana, Ill., from May 16-27. The championships will be hosted by the University of Illinois.