Six Teams Selected to NCAA Women's Tennis Championship

May 1, 2012

Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern and Purdue will represent the Big Ten at the NCAA Women’s Tennis Championship. The selections mark the second time in the last three years the conference has boasted six seeds in the tournament.

Illinois makes its 11th appearance in the NCAA Championship having made the field in four of the last five years. The Fighting Illini will take on Rice in the first round with the winner moving on to play either host and No. 16 seed Ole Miss or Southern.

Michigan makes its 14th appearance in the NCAA Championship and its 11th in a row. The Wolverines will host first and second rounds and will face Illinois-Chicago in the opening match. The winner will advance to take on either Texas A&M or LSU in the second round.

Minnesota was selected to its first NCAA Championship since 2003 and sixth overall where the Gophers will take on Arizona in Chapel Hill, N.C. Host and No. 7 seed North Carolina or Richmond await the winner of the Gophers and Wildcats in Round 2.

Nebraska receives its third consecutive berth to the championship and travel to Austin, Texas, to take on North Texas in the first round. The winner advances to take on host and No. 11 seed Texas or Wichita State in the second round.

Northwestern earns its 17th consecutive berth to the national tournament and 23rd overall. The Wildcats will square off against Akron on their home court in the first round with the winner advancing to play the winner of Notre Dame and Hawaii.

Purdue receives an automatic-berth after winning the Big Ten Tournament last weekend. The Boilermakers travel to Berkeley, Calif., to take on Pepperdine in the first round with the winner of California and Sacramento State waiting in the second round.

First- and second-round play takes place May 11-12 at campus sites. The winner of each sites advances to the round of 16 at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga., from May 18-22. The championships will be hosted by the University of Georgia.