NCAA Women's Tennis Singles and Doubles Draws Announced

May 1, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

Four Big Ten singles players and six doubles duos have been selected to the 2013 NCAA Women's Tennis Championships, as announced on Wednesday. Michigan and Northwestern will each send three players to the championships, while Illinois, Nebraska, Penn State and Purdue will all have two student-athletes competing. 

The Huskers' Mary Weatherholt earned the conference's automatic singles bid in the 64-player field, while the Big Ten Athlete of the Year and teammate Patricia Veresova were the conference's automatic doubles selection. The duo will be the No. 3 seed in the 32-pair field. Michigan's Emina Bektas and Ronit Yurovsky and Northwestern's Kate Turvy also earned berths to the singles championships, receiving at-large bids in the draw. Illinois' Melissa Kopinski and Rachael White, Bektas and fellow Wolverine Brooke Bolender, Northwestern's Linda Abu Mushrefova and Nida Hamilton, Penn State's Petra Januskova and Chelsea Utting and Purdue's Krisztina Kapitany and Mara Schmidt also earned berths in the doubles draw.

The singles and doubles competition will be conducted May 22-27 at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex in Urbana, Ill., following the conclusion of the team championship that runs May 16-21.