Michigan and Northwestern Selected to NCAA Women's Tennis Championships

Michigan and Northwestern have been selected to the NCAA Women's Tennis Championships.

May 3, 2011

NCAA Women's Tennis Championships Bracket

Michigan and Northwestern will represent the Big Ten at the NCAA Women's Tennis Championships, with both teams receiving top-16 seeds in the national tournament. The 10th-seeded Wolverines earned an at-large bid to the championships, while the 16th-seeded Wildcats received an automatic berth after winning the Big Ten Tournament.

Michigan makes its 13th appearance in the NCAA Championships and its 10th in a row. The Wolverines will host first and second rounds and will face Akron in the opening match. The winner will advance to take on either Nebraska or Tulsa in the second round.

Northwestern earns its 16th consecutive berth to the national tournament and 22nd overall. The Wildcats will square off against IPFW on their home court in the first round with the winner advancing to play the winner of Notre Dame and Fresno State.

The first round of the NCAA Championships is scheduled for May 13 and 14 with second-round action following on May 14 and 15 on campus sites. The remainder of the tournament will be played in Stanford, Calif., with third-round matches taking place on May 20 followed by quarterfinals on May 22. The semifinals will be played on May 23, and the national championship match will take place on May 24.