Northwestern Sweeps Women's Tennis Postseason Honors

May 5, 2005

PARK RIDGE, IL - The Big Ten Conference announced today the 2005 Women's Tennis All-Big Ten team and Freshman, Athlete and Coach of the Year award winners.

Northwestern's Audra Cohen was selected as the 2005 Big Ten Athlete of the Year and was unanimously picked as the Conference's Freshman of the Year.  Since the inception of the Freshman of the Year award in 1988, only Cohen and teammate Cristelle Grier have earned both Athlete of the Year laurels and Freshman of the Year honors in the same season.  The Wildcats have now garnered the last four Athlete of the Year and two out of the last three Freshman of the Year accolades.  For the second-straight year and third time overall, Northwestern head coach Clare Pollard was chosen as the Big Ten Coach of the Year. Under the guidance of Pollard, the Wildcats compiled a perfect 13-0 Big Ten record and posted a mark of 24-2 overall to capture the program's second-consecutive regular season title and its seventh-straight Big Ten Championship.

In addition to eight unanimous selections to this year's All-Big Ten team, this year's 12-member squad is also comprised of five repeat winners.  Michigan's Michelle DaCosta earned her fourth-straight All-Big Ten honor, while Northwestern's Grier claimed her third.  Illinois' Cynthya Goulet, Iowa's Meg Racette and Wisconsin's Katie McGaffigan were each named for the second time as well.

The Conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The 11 student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the Conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

A complete list of the 2005 All-Big Ten team and postseason honorees are listed below.

Athlete of the Year  
Audra Cohen, Northwestern 

Freshman of the Year 
*Audra Cohen, Northwestern 

Coach of the Year
Claire Pollard, Northwestern

2005 All-Big Ten Team  
*Cynthya Goulet, Sr., Illinois  
Sarah Batty, Jr., Indiana     
*Meg Racette, So., Iowa     
*Michelle DaCosta, Sr., Michigan  
Nischela Reddy, Jr., Minnesota  
*Audra Cohen, Fr., Northwestern  
*Cristelle Grier, Jr., Northwestern    
*Alexis Prousis, So., Northwestern  
Maaria Husain, Sr., Penn State  
*Hala Sufi, So., Purdue    
Caitlin Burke, So., Wisconsin  
*Katie McGaffigan, Sr., Wisconsin     
*unanimous selection

2005 Sportsmanship Award Honorees 
Macall Harkins, Illinois
Laura McGaffigan, Indiana
Hilary Tyler, Iowa
Michelle DaCosta, Michigan
Christine Bader, Michigan State
Nischela Reddy, Minnesota
Cristelle Grier, Northwestern
Caitlin O'Keefe, Ohio State
Sasha Abraham, Penn State
Brooke Beier, Purdue
Katie McGaffigan, Wisconsin