Big Ten Earns Bids to Singles and Doubles Draws at NCAA Championships

Northwestern's Maria Mosolova earned a top-16 seed in the singles draw at the NCAA Championships.

May 6, 2010

A trio of Big Ten singles players advanced to the 64-woman field, and three doubles pairs earned berths in the 32-team doubles draw at the 2010 NCAA Women's Tennis Championships, the NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Subcommittee announced on Thursday.

Claming the Big Ten's automatic bid was Northwestern's Maria Mosolova, who is ranked No. 13 nationally and earned a top-16 seed in the singles bracket. She will be joined in the adraw by teammate Samantha Murray and Michigan's Denise Muresan, the Big Ten Player of the Year.

In the doubles draw, the Michigan pair of Whitney Taney and Rika Tatsuno won the conference's automatic bid into the championships. The duo will be joined by the Iowa team of Sonja Molnar and Merel Beelen and the Northwestern pair of Lauren Lui and Elena Chernyakova.

The singles and doubles championships will be contested May 26-31 at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex on the University of Georgia campus in Athens, Ga. The tournaments will follow the team competition, scheduled for May 20-25.

Complete NCAA Release