2017-18 Women's Tennis Season In Review
June 7, 2018

Take a look back at the 2017-18 women's tennis season in the Big Ten.

Northwestern Wins 15th Conference Title
Northwestern clinched the outright Big Ten Women's Tennis Championship on April 22 after earning a 4-2 victory at Ohio State. The conference title marks the 15th in Northwestern's program history and first since 2012. The Wildcats have won the most titles in Big Ten women's tennis history, including 11 consecutive championships from 1999-2009. Read more here.

Michigan Captures Second Big Ten Tournament Crown
Michigan women’s tennis won its second Big Ten Tournament Championship on April 29 with a 4-3 victory over top-seeded Northwestern at the Baseline Tennis Center. The Wolverines captured their first conference tournament title since 2015. Michigan’s Chiara Lommer defeated Northwestern’s Maddie Lipp 6-3, 3-6, 6-4 on court 2 in the decisive match to give the Wolverines the title. More info can be found here.

And The Awards Go To
The Big Ten women's tennis all-conference teams and individual awards were announced on May 3 following the Big Ten Tournament. Michigan's Kate Fahey was named Athlete of the Year. Shiori Fukuda of Ohio State was honored as the Freshman of the Year. Illinois' Evan Clark collected Coach of the Year accolades. Full information here.

Four Big Ten Teams Earn NCAA Berths
Illinois, Michigan, Northwestern and Ohio State will represent the Big Ten at the NCAA Women’s Tennis Championship. The Wolverines received an automatic bid to the championship after winning the Big Ten Tournament. More here.

Northwestern Advances To Round Of 16
No. 14 seed Northwestern reached the Round of 16 before falling to No. 3 seed Duke. Complete results from the Big Ten teams can be found here.

NCAA Singles and Doubles Action
Four Big Ten students competed in the championships including the #4 doubles team of Erin Larner and Maddie Lipp of Northwestern. Full results here.

ITA Regional Honors
The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced the 2018 ITA Regional Honors, with three Big Ten women's tennis students and two coaches garnering recognition. Full details here.

All-American Doubles Team Northwestern's doubles pair of Erin Larner and Maddie Lipp earned All-America honors after being ranked ninth in the final Oracle/ITA Division I Women's Rankings of the season. More here.

In The Final Polls
Three Big Ten schools and one doubles pair were ranked among the top 25 in the final ITA rankings. Ohio State finished ranked 15th, Illinois was 20th, Michigan came in 21st. Also ranked in the Top 75 were Ohio State (33rd), Nebraska (46th), Purdue (56th), Michigan State (61st), Maryland (69th) and Minnesota (74th).

Michigan's Kate Fahey led the conference in singles with a No. 30 ranking. Additional Big Ten singles players in the Top 125 included: Northwestern's Erin Larner (37th), Ohio State's Anna Sanford (62nd), Illinois' Jaclyn Switkes (72nd), Northwestern's Maddie Lipp (81st), Michigan's Chiara Lommer (90th), Illinois' Mia Rabinowitz (100th), Purdue's Silvia Ambrosio (103rd), Ohio State's Shiori Fukuda (107th), and Northwestern's Lee Or (120th).

In doubles, Northwestern's Larner and Lipp claimed the No. 9 spot followed by teammates Alex Chatt and Orr at No. 33. Also ranked in the Top 90 doubles teams from the Big Ten were: Shiori Fukuda and Anna Sanford of Ohio State (41st), Fahey and Brienne Minor of Michigan (50th), Millie Stretton and Eva Alexandrova of Maryland (52nd), Daniela Pedraza Novak and Alexandra "Sasha" Belaya of Illinois (54th), Fukuda and Maria Tyrina of Ohio State (81st) and Larner and Or of Northwestern (89th).

To view the polls, click here.