Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee - NEB's Mary Weatherholt

Weatherholt advanced to the national singles title match this season.

June 24, 2013

Through Tuesday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference's Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced on Wednesday.

Mary Weatherholt – Nebraska – Women’s Tennis
Weatherholt was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year for the second consecutive season after posting a combined 52-5 record this season, including a 30-2 singles mark, the highest winning percentage in Nebraska history. The senior became the first Husker to earn All-America honors in both singles and doubles after advancing to the singles national championship match and the doubles quarterfinals. The unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selection helped Nebraska to its first Big Ten Championship and appearance in the NCAA Round of 16. Weatherholt is a two-time academic All-Big Ten honoree, 2013 Big Ten Medal of Honor recipient and Sportsmanship Award winner. Click HERE for more information on Mary.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Ed Ruth, Penn State wrestling

Christine Nairn, Penn State women's soccer

Geoff Davis, Purdue men's track & field 

Casey Matthews, Purdue women's swimming & diving 

Derek St. John, Iowa wrestling

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey    

Connor Jaeger, Michigan men's swimming & diving

Joanna Sampson, Michigan women's gymnastics

Le'Veon Bell, Michigan State football  

Caroline Powers, Michigan State women's golf  

Tony Nelson, Minnesota wrestling

Amanda Kessel, Minnesota women's ice hockey

Justin Parr, Illinois baseball

Ashley Spencer, Illinois women's track & field  

Montee Ball, Wisconsin football   

Cassandra Darrah, Wisconsin softball   

Chad Wright, Nebraska men's track & field