Big Ten Women's Outdoor Track & Field Championships Release

May 11, 2005

Big Ten Championships Preview Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

In search of its fourth-straight League title, Michigan will join nine other Conference teams at the 2005 Big Ten Outdoor Track & Field Championships, hosted by Ohio State University.  The Championships will run Friday-Sunday, May 13-15 and will be held at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium in Columbus. 

Like Wisconsin on the men's side, the Wolverines will attempt to make it a clean sweep of the cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field titles in 2004-05. 

The Wolverines enter this year's Championships having won six team titles and a total of 48 individual and team relay crowns.  Wisconsin leads all Big Ten squads with eight League titles in the history of the event.

Action will begin at noon on Friday with the decathlon 100-meter and will feature other decathlon and heptathlon events, as well as the finals of the men's and women's 10,000-meter runs.  Field event champions will also be crowned in the men's and women's hammer throw and women's pole vault.  The meet will continue on Saturday with the decathlon 110-meter hurdles at 9:30 a.m. and will conclude Sunday with the men's 4x400-meter relay.  

College Sports Television will broadcast the Championships on a tape-delayed basis.  CSTV will air the event on Tuesday, May 17 at 9 p.m. ET.