Big Ten Student-Athletes Enjoy Successful Opening Day at NCAA Preliminary Rounds

May 27, 2010

Following the first night of competition on Thursday at the NCAA East and West Preliminary Rounds, 16 Big Ten student-athletes qualified for next month’s NCAA Championships by finishing in the top 12 of their respective events. A complete list of those who qualified for the NCAA Championships on Thursday is below.

Action continues at the NCAA Preliminary Rounds on Friday with preliminary and quarterfinal heats.

Qualifiers from the East Preliminary Round:
Jeff Coover, IND, pole vault
Faith Sherrill, IND, shot put
Lex Williams, MICH, 10,000
Rebecca Buchholtz, MSU, high jump
Maggie Mullen, OSU, javelin
Bianca Fung, PSU, long jump
Tyler McCandless, PSU, 10,000 meters
Karlee McQuillen, PSU, javelin
Eric Sparks, PUR, pole vault
Emily Breslin, PUR, high jump

Live East Preliminary Round Results

Qualifiers from the West Preliminary Round:
Aja Evans, ILL shot put
Matt Byers, IOWA, javelin
Ryan Lamparek, IOWA, shot put
Megan Duwell, MINN, 10,000 meters
Mohammed Ahmed, WIS, 10,000 meters
Jenny Soceka, WIS, pole vault

Live West Preliminary Round Results



Multimedia Store