2007 Outdoor Track and Field Season Wrap Up

June 12, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The Michigan women's squad posted the best finish of any Big Ten team at the 2007 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships, June 6-9, in Sacramento, Calif., placing third with 36 team points. Wisconsin grabbed the top conference men's finish, taking seventh with a 22-point total.

Five Big Ten student-athletes took home individual NCAA Championships, including two members of the Michigan women's squad in Anna Willard and Tiffany Ofili. Willard set an NCAA Championships record in the 3,000-meter steeplechase at 9:38.08, while her teammate took home the gold in the 100-meter hurdles at 12.80. Lindsey Blaine of Purdue won the conference's third women's title, throwing the javelin for a distance of 182"03", accounting for all 10 of her team's total points.

Wisconsin's Chris Solinsky won his fifth overall title and his second consecutive outdoor 5,000-meter championship, clocking in at 13:35.12. Michigan's Andrew Ellerton also earned an individual crown, crossing the finish line at 1:47.48 in the 800 meters.
The Wolverine women also received major team points from senior Katie Erdman, who took second in the 800 meters with a time of 1:59.35, a mere .06 seconds off the pace of California's Alysia Johnson. Sophomore Geena Gall finished fifth in the event at 2:02.24, while Erin Webster added to Michigan's total with a seventh-place finish in the 1,500 meters (4:17.33). Sophomore Bettie Wade placed seventh in the heptathlon, finishing with 5,724 points.

The Wisconsin men got a large chunk of their points from senior Joe Detmer, who took second in the decathlon with a total score of 7,963, setting a new school record. Detmer's performance included a time of 4:04.11 in the 1,500 meters, setting a new decathlon collegiate record. Senior Tim Nelson also added to the Badgers' final team total, placing fifth in the 5,000 meters with a time of 29:00.75.

Thirty-six points is the most for the Wolverine women in school history, while the third-place finish is also a program best. The third-place finish is also the highest for any Big Ten women's team since Wisconsin took second in 1993. The last time a conference squad finished in the top five at the NCAA Championships was in 1996 when Illinois placed fourth.

The Wisconsin men's seventh-place finish is the team's highest outdoor finish since it took fourth in 1997. The last team to place higher than seventh at the NCAAs was Ohio State in 2004, when the Buckeyes tied for fourth.
The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association announced NCAA Division I All-America honors on the Monday following the championships. Twenty-two athletes representing all 10 conference women's teams were named All-Americans, including seven from Michigan. Nine athletes from five of the conference's men's teams received the same honors, including four members of the Wisconsin squad.

The complete list of Big Ten NCAA Division I All-Americans can be found below.

Lesiba Masheto, So., ILL, 400 meters
Adam Hamilton, Sr., IOWA, Discus
Andrew Ellerton, Sr., MICH, 800 meters
Jeff Porter, Sr., MICH, 110-meter Hurdles
Ryan Fritz, So., PSU, High Jump
Joe Detmer, Sr., WIS, Decathlon
Craig Miller, Fr., WIS, 1,500 meters
Tim Nelson, Sr., WIS, 10,000 meters
Chris Solinsky, Sr., WIS, 5,000 meters

Carlene Robinson, Jr., ILL, 400-meter Hurdles
Jessica Gall, Sr., IND, 10,000 meters
Kineke Alexander, Jr., IOWA, 400 meters
Diane Nukuri, Jr., IOWA, 10,000 meters
Peaches Roach, Sr., IOWA, High Jump
Nicole Edwards, Jr., MICH, 1,500 meters
Katie Erdman, Sr., MICH, 800 meters
Geena Gall, So., MICH, 800 meters
Tiffany Ofili, So., MICH, 100-meter Hurdles
Bettie Wade, So., MICH, Heptathlon
Erin Webster, Sr., MICH, 5,000 meters
Anna Willard, Sr., MICH, Steeplechase
Nicole Bush, Jr., MSU, Steeplechase
Heather Dorniden, So., MINN, 800 meters
Ruby Radocaj, Jr., MINN, Javelin
Veronica Jatsek, Jr., OSU, Hammer
Shana Cox, Jr., PSU, 400 meters
Gayle Hunter, So., PSU, Heptathlon
Lindsey Blaine, Sr., PUR ,Javelin
Leah Kincaid, Jr., PUR, Long Jump
Astin Steward, Jr., PUR, Discus
A' Havahla Haynes, Sr., WIS, Steeplechase