Illinois' Riley, Penn State's Franek Win Titles on Final Day at NCAA Championships

June 12, 2010

Two Big Ten student-athletes won national championships on Saturday, bringing the conference total to three, during the final day of competition at the 2010 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships at the Hayward Track on the University of Oregon campus. In total, the conference saw 15 All-America efforts during the final day of competition.

Penn State's Bridget Franek crossed the tape first in the 3,000-meter steeplechase in a time of 9:38.36, more than 10 seconds ahead of the field, to claim her first NCAA championship. Illinois' Andrew Riley became the first national champion for the Illini since 1997 after winning the 110-meter hurdles in a time of 13.45.

In the team standings, Texas A&M claimed the men's and women's titles. In the women's race, the Nittany Lions finished fourth overall with 34 points, while Indiana men finished 20th overall with 13.5 points.

Four conference standouts placed in the top eight in their respective field events, including Penn State's Karlee McQuillen (third) and Ohio State's Maggie Mullen (eighth) in the javelin, and Penn State's Blake Eaton (third) and Ohio State's Matt DeChant (eighth) in the shot put. In the men's 1,500-meter run Wisconsin's Jack Bolas finished fourth, teammate Craig Miller was seventh and Ohio State's Jeff See was fifth. Minnesota's Gabriele Anderson finished as the runner-up in the women's 1,500.

Penn State's Shavon Greaves recorded a seventh-place effort in the 200-meter dash, teammate Aleesha Barber was third in the 100-meter hurdles, while Indiana's Sarah Pease finished fourth in the 3,000-meter steeplechase. The Penn State women's 4x400-meter relay team finished fourth, while the Iowa men's relay squad scored a seventh-place finish.

Complete NCAA Championships Results