2012 Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Nominee - Minnesota's Ashley Wittman

Ashley Wittman is Minnesota's nominee for the Suzy Favor Athlete of the Year.

June 13, 2012

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on BTN’s season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

Ashley Wittman – Minnesota – Volleyball
Wittman followed a successful freshman campaign with a stellar second season. The sophomore was named a second-team All-American and was a unanimous All-Big Ten selection. She ranked second in the conference in kills (541) and points (592), while leading the Golden Gophers in those categories. Wittman is also a three-time All-Tournament selection, including two tournament MVP honors. Click HERE for more information on Ashley.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey

Matt McDonough, Iowa wrestling

Kevin Plawecki, Purdue baseball

Ariel Turner, Purdue volleyball

Draymond Green, Michigan State basketball

Caroline Powers, Michigan State golf

Tony Nelson, Minnesota wrestling