Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee Spotlight - Deja McClendon (Penn State)

McClendon concluded her career at Penn State with her fourth consecutive AVCA All-America honor.

June 22, 2014

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight the student-athletes nominated for the conference's Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced on Monday, June 23, at 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT on BTN.

Deja McClendon - Penn State - Volleyball

McClendon concluded a standout career at Penn State with her fourth consecutive AVCA All-America honor. With the accolade, she became just the fifth four-time All-American in Penn State history. The Louisville, Ky., native also earned four consecutive Big Ten postseason awards, earning a unanimous selection to the All-Big Ten team in 2013 as well as 2010 Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors. During her time on the court, McClendon has made solid contributions in two NCAA national championship runs in 2010 and most recently in 2013. Click HERE for more information on Deja.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Natalie Cafone, Iowa field hockey

Tony Ramos, Iowa wrestling

Allyssa Ferrell, Michigan State golf

Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State football

Dani Bunch, Purdue track & field

Raheem Mostert, Purdue track & field/football

Emily Wong, Nebraska gymnastics

Miles Ukaoma, Nebraska track & field



Catherine Shields, Ohio State rowing

Logan Stieber, Ohio State wrestling

Alex Rigsby, Wisconsin hockey

Michael Lihrman, Wisconsin track & field

Lindsay Mable, Minnesota gymnastics

Ellis Mannon, Minnesota gymnastics

Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern lacrosse

Jason Tsirtsis, Northwestern wrestling

Jannelle Flaws, Illinois soccer

Jesse Delgado, Illinois wrestling