Thirty-Two Named All-Region

Dec. 6, 2016

Thirty-two Big Ten volleyball players and two Big Ten coaches were honored with American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-Region honors as announced by the AVCA on Tuesday morning. In addition, Minnesota’s Alexis Hart and Wisconsin’s Molly Haggerty garnered AVCA North and Northeast Region Freshman of the Year honors, respectively, while Nebraska head coach John Cook and Wisconsin Head Coach Kelly Sheffield were named the AVCA North and Northeast Region Coaches of the Year, respectively.

Of the 32 players honored, a Big Ten record-setting 24 were first team selections in their respective regions while eight earned honorable mention nods.


Abby Cole, MICH

Alexis Hart, MINN



Samantha Seliger-Swenson, MINN

Hannah Tapp, MINN

Sarah Wilhite, MINN

Autumn Bailey, MSU

Alyssa Garvelink, MSU

Mikaela Foecke, NEB

Briana Holman, NEB

Kelly Hunter, NEB

Amber Rolfzen, NEB

Kadie Rolfzen, NEB

Justine Wong-Orantes, NEB

Honorable Mention: MacKenzi Welsh, MICH; Alyssah Fitterer, MSU; Molly Lohman, MINN, Paige Tapp, MINN

Freshman of the Year: Alexis Hart, MINN

Coach of the Year: John Cook, NEB


Ali Bastianelli, ILL

Jordyn Poulter, ILL

Faye Adelaja, PUR

Danielle Cuttino, PUR

Simone Lee, PSU

Haleigh Washington, PSU

Taylor Sandbothe, OSU

Lauren Carlini, WIS

Molly Haggerty, WIS

Haleigh Nelson, WIS

Tionna Williams, WIS


Honorable Mention: Brandi Donnelly, ILL; Taylor Hughes, OSU; Ali Frantti, PSU; Romana Kriskova, WIS

Freshman of the Year: Molly Haggerty, WIS

Coach of the Year: Kelly Sheffield, WIS