AVCA All-Americans

Dec. 14, 2016

A Big Ten record-tying 16 Big Ten volleyball players were selected as AVCA (American Volleyball Coaches Association) All-Americans, as announced by the AVCA on Wednesday.


Seven of 14 first-team selections are Big Ten students. Represented on the first team are Minnesota’s Samantha Seliger-Swenson and Sarah Wilhite, Nebraska’s Kadie Rolfzen and Justine Wong-Orantes, Penn State’s Simone Lee and Haleigh Washington and Wisconsin’s Lauren Carlini.


The Big Ten also holds six of the 14 second team selections. Michigan’s Abby Cole, Michigan State’s Alyssa Garvelink, Minnesota’s Hannah Tapp, Nebraska’s Kelly Hunter, Ohio State’s Taylor Sandbothe and Wisconsin’s Haleigh Nelson all earned spots on the second team.


Three players earned a spot on the third team in Nebraska’s Amber Rolfzen and Wisconsin’s Molly Haggerty and Tionna Williams.


In addition, 10 players were selected as AVCA Honorable Mention All-America selections.


For the complete AVCA All-America teams, click here.


First Team

Samantha Seliger Swenson, Minnesota

Sarah Wilhite, Minnesota

Kadie Rolfzen, Nebraska

Justine Wong-Orantes, Nebraska

Simone Lee, Penn State

Haleigh Washington, Penn State

Lauren Carlini, Wisconsin


Second Team

Abby Cole, Michigan

Alyssa Garvelink, Michigan State

Hannah Tapp, Minnesota

Kelly Hunter, Nebraska

Taylor Sandbothe, Ohio State

Haleigh Nelson, Wisconsin


Third Team

Amber Rolfzen, Nebraska

Molly Haggerty, Wisconsin

Tionna Williams, Wisconsin


Honorable Mention



Ali Bastianelli, Illinois

Brandi Donnelly, Illinois

Jordyn Poulter, Illinois

MacKenzi Welsh, Michigan

Autumn Bailey, Michigan State

Alexis Hart, Minnesota

Molly Lohman, Minnesota

Mikaela Foecke, Nebraska

Briana Holman, Nebraska

Taylor Hughes, Ohio State