Michigan State Earns Second Straight Big Ten Women's Cross Country Championship

Penn State's Caitlin Lane finished first individually at the Big Ten Championships.

Oct. 30, 2011

Individual ResultsGet Acrobat Reader | Team ResultsGet Acrobat Reader

Michigan State Recap

URBANA, Ill. - Michigan State won its second straight Big Ten Women's Cross Country Championship, placing three runners in the top 10 to earn its fourth conference title all-time. Penn State's Caitlin Lane finished first individually, finishing the 6,000-meter course in 19:58 to mark the third individual title in Nittany Lion history.

The Spartans posted a winning score of 55 as Julia Otwell placed sixth, Sara Kroll took eighth and Carlie Green finished ninth. Michigan finished just six points behind Michigan State, notching 61 points en route to second place. Penn State took third with 71 points.

Wisconsin's Caitlin Comfort followed Lane individually in second place, while Michigan's Danielle Tauro took third and fellow Wolverine Rebecca Addison placed fourth. Minnesota's Stephanie Price rounded out the top five in fifth place.

Rebecca Addison, MICH
Danielle Tauro, MICH
Julia Otwell, MSU
Stephanie Price, MINN
Caitlin Lane, PSU
Kara Millhouse, PSU
Caitlin Comfort, WIS

McKenzie Melander, IOWA
Taylor Pogue, MICH
Jillian Smith, MICH
Carlie Green, MSU
Sara Kroll, MSU
Audrey Huth, NU
Emily Giannotti, PSU