Michigan State Earns Big Ten Women's Cross Country Championships Title

Oct. 31, 2010

Complete Women's Results


Big Ten Cross Country Championships Central

VERONA, Wis. - The Michigan State women's cross country team earned its third Big Ten Championships title and its first since 2001 on Sunday at the Thomas Zimmer Championship Cross Country Course in Verona, Wis. The Spartans, led by top individual finisher Emily MacLeod, placed two runners in the top 10 and four in the top 25 en route to a team score of 74. Michigan took second place with 88 points with Minnesota following with 90.

MacLeod finished the six-kilometer course in 19:54, marking the second-best 6K time by an individual Big Ten Champion. Minnesota's Stephanie Price completed the race in 19:56 to earn second place. Wisconsin's Emily Sisson rounded out the individual top three.

The 2010 women's cross country All-Big Ten teams can be found below.

All-Big Ten First Team
Emily MacLeod, Michigan State
Stephanie Price, Minnesota
Emily Sisson, Wisconsin
Danielle Tauro, Michigan
Sarah Pease, Indiana
Caitlin Comfort, Wisconsin
Carlie Green, Michigan State

All-Big Ten Second Team
Betsy Flood, Iowa
Brooklyne Ridder, Penn State
Ellen Birmingham, Ohio State
Missa Varpness, Minnesota
Jillian Smith, Michigan
Nikki Swenson, Minnesota
Natalie Bower, Penn State