2013 Big Ten Cross Country Championships

Nov. 1, 2013

Big Ten Championships Preview Release Get Acrobat Reader

2013 Big Ten Cross Country Championships

Men's preview:

The 2013 Big Ten Men’s Cross Country Championships, hosted by Purdue, will take place on Sunday, Nov. 3 at the Boilermaker Cross Country Course in West Lafayette, Ind. All 11 squads will compete in the 8,000-meter (8K) race beginning at 10:45 a.m. ET. 

Wisconsin, which earned the 2012 Big Ten Championship, heads into the championships with a conference-leading No. 7 national ranking. The Badgers, who are led by returning All-Big Ten performer Rob Finnerty, will look to claim their 15th-consecutive Big Ten title and 47th crown overall.

Michigan is ranked No. 16 in the USTFCCCA top 30 poll. The Wolverines are paced by two All-Big Ten competitors, including Mark Beams and Morsi Rayyan.

Rounding out the Big Ten’s nationally-ranked teams is No. 24 Indiana. The Hoosiers are led by Robby Nierman and Matt Schwartzer, who both posted top 25 finishes at the 2012 Big Ten Championships.

Illinois welcomes back second-team All-Big Ten and Sportsmanship Award Honoree Jannis Toepfer, while Iowa returns six competitors from last year’s championship. Michigan State is led by Caleb Rhynard, the Spartans’ top 2012 finisher, while returning second-team All-Big Ten selection John Simons will help guide Minnesota.

Nebraska enters the meet led by Trevor Vidlak, who earned Athlete of the Week honors on Sept. 10, while Ohio State returns seven runners from last year’s competition. Penn State will be guided by Nick Scarpello, who was the Nittany Lions’ Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Honoree, while Purdue will be led by 2012 Big Ten Freshman of the Year and second-team All-Big Ten selection Matthew McClintock.


Women's preview:

The Boilermaker Cross Country Course will be the host site for the 2013 Big Ten Women’s Cross Country Championships on Sunday, Nov. 3. All 12 squads will compete in the 6,000-meter (6K) race for the Big Ten title, which starts at 11:45 a.m. ET.  

Six Big Ten women’s cross country teams are nationally ranked heading into the Big Ten Championships, with Michigan State leading the way at No. 6. The Spartans will be led by Sara Kroll, who was named the 2012 Big Ten Athlete of the Year, and Leah O’Connor, who is a returning All-Big Ten runner.

Michigan, the defending 2012 Big Ten Champions, follows at No. 14. The Wolverines are led by 2012 Big Ten Freshman of the Year and second-team All-Big Ten selection Shannon Osika, who also earned Athlete of the Week honors on Sept. 3.

Minnesota is ranked No. 15, and is led by second-team All-Big Ten selection Laura Docherty, who posted a top 10 finish at last year’s championships.

Indiana checks into the USTFCCCA at No. 21. Kelsey Duerksen, a two-time Athlete of the Week honoree this season, will help propel the Hoosiers, alongside Samantha Ginther.

Wisconsin is ranked No. 28 heading into the championships and will be led by Gabrielle Anzalone, a first-team All-Big Ten selection last season.

No. 29 Penn State rounds out the Big Ten’s nationally ranked teams heading into the championships. Rebekka Simko, who placed fifth in last year’s race and was named first-team All-Big Ten, will help lead the Nittany Lions.

Illinois returns to the championships with three of its top four finishers from last season, including Katie Porada, who earned this week’s Athlete of the Week honor. Iowa will travel to the championships with four returning runners.

Northwestern will be led by Michelle Moriset, its top finisher last year. Ohio State will compete with seven returning runners, while Purdue will be led by its six returning competitors.