Michigan State's MacLeod Named Big Ten Women's Cross Country Athlete of the Year

Nov. 2, 2010

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - Michigan State senior Emily MacLeod has been named the Big Ten women's cross country Athlete of the Year, the conference office announced on Tuesday. Michigan State head coach Walt Drenth received recognition as the Big Ten Coach of the Year, while Wisconsin's Emily Sisson reeled in Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors. The conference also announced 11 Sportsmanship Award Honorees, recognizing one student-athlete from each team who distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior.

MacLeod earns Athlete of the Year recognition after leading Michigan State to its third Big Ten Championship in program history and the first since 2001. The senior completed the six-kilometer course in 19:54, marking the third-best 6K time in Big Ten Championships history. MacLeod was named Big Ten Runner of the Week twice this season and earned All-Big Ten first-team status for the second year in a row after finishing sixth in last year's championships.
Drenth takes home his first Coach of the Year award after coaching the Spartans to their third Big Ten title. He becomes the second Michigan State coach to earn the honor in program history and the first since Jim Stintzi helped the Spartans capture their last win at the Big Ten Championsips in 2001.

Sisson hauls in the Freshman of the Year hardware after taking third place at the Big Ten Championships. The newcomer finished the course in 20:03, cementing her as the lone freshman on the All-Big Ten first team. Sisson is the second Badger in the last three years to win the award, joining teammate Caitlin Comfort.

Illinois' Chantelle Groenewoud, Indiana's Samantha Ginther, Iowa's Kelsey Hart, Michigan's Kaitlyn Peale, Michigan State's Carlie Green, Minnesota's Nikki Swenson, Northwestern's Audrey Huth, Ohio State's Molly Jacobson, Penn State's Maura Ryan, Purdue's Stephanie Bonk and Wisconsin's Karen Greuel all earned recognition as the conference's Sportsmanship Award Honorees.

Big Ten Athlete of the Year
Emily MacLeod, Michigan State

Big Ten Coach of the Year
Walt Drenth, Michigan State

Big Ten Freshman of the Year
Emily Sisson, Wisconsin