Illinois' Angela Bizzarri Captures Individual NCAA Crown

Nov. 23, 2009

Illinois Angela Bizzarri used a late kick to capture the women’s individual crown at the 2009 NCAA Cross Country Championships Monday afternoon. The Big Ten Conference was well represented at the national event as eleven teams invaded Terre Haute, Ind., including four men’s  and seven women’s squads. 

Bizzarri raced her way to the top of the winner’s podium on the strength of a 19:46 effort in the six-kilometer event. The Illinois senior was down 13 seconds from the lead entering the final 2000 meters of the race before surging to the front of the pack for the win. She becomes the first female to earn a national cross country title in program history. Also placing in the top 10 was Minnesota’s Megan Duwell who posted a seventh-place finish with a time of 20:06.9. The Gopher senior led her team to a 10th place team finish to lead all conference teams in the overall standings. In addition to Bizzarri and Duwell, Michigan’s Kaitlyn Peale and Penn State’s Bridget Franek earned All-America honors by virtue of their top-40 finishes in Monday’s Championship event.

On the men’s side, Wisconsin led all conference teams with a seventh place finish. The Badgers placed four harriers in the top 40 percent of individual competitors and were led by freshman Mohammed Ahmed in 26th place. Big Ten Athlete of the Year Hassan Mead competitors completed the 10-kilometer course in 29:51 to finish inside the top 15. For their efforts, Ahmed and Mead earned All-America status and are joined by Ohio State’s Jeff See on the list of distinguished honorees.

Look here for a complete listing of Division I All-Americans.

NCAA Recap

Men's Team Results
Men's Individual Results

Women's Team Results
Women's Individual Results