2007 Cross Country Season in Review

Nov. 27, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Five Big Ten men's and women's cross country teams finished in the top 10 at the NCAA Cross Country Championships on Monday, Nov. 19.  Wisconsin's men's team and Michigan State's women's team led all Big Ten schools with fifth place finishes in their respective races.

In the men's 10K race, Minnesota was also a top 10 team finishing in eighth place.  Michigan took 24th while Indiana and Ohio State placed 28th and 30th, respectively.  Individually, Illinois' Trent Hoerr placed 16th overall and just under two seconds behind him in 17th was Wisconsin's Matt Withrow.  With their top-30 finishes, Hoerr and Withrow earned All-America honors.

In the women's 6K competition, Illinois finished in 6th place just behind Michigan State, and rounding out the top 10 was Iowa in the 10th spot.  Minnesota was 12th and Wisconsin and Michigan took 20th and 21st, respectively.  The Big Ten had two representatives in the women's individual top 10.  Iowa's Diane Nukuri placed fourth overall with a time of 20:07.0, and in her shadow placing fifth was Michigan State's Nicole Bush covering the course in 20:13.4, both earning All-America laurels.

Along with Hoerr, Withrow, Nukuri and Bush, eight other Big Ten student-athletes earned All-America honors.  On the men's side, Minnesota's Chris Rombough (29th, 30:24.8) and Hassan Mead (43rd, 30:37.6) along with Wisconsin's Stuart Eagon (40th, 30:36.8) earned the national honor.  The women added five more All-Americans in Illinois' Angela Bizzarri (14th, 20:34.7), Iowa's Meghan Armstrong (16th, 20:36.3), Wisconsin's Hanna Grinaker (25th, 20:50.5), Minnesota's Jamie Cheever (33rd, 20:58.3) and Michigan's Erin Webster (34th, 20:59.1).

With Wisconsin men's team leading the Big Ten with its top five finish, this is the ninth consecutive season the Badgers have had the highest conference finish in the NCAA Championships.  Michigan State's women's team paced all conference schools with its fifth place finish this year, and the first time since 1981 that the Spartans have led the conference in NCAA competition.