Indiana, Iowa and Minnesota Earn Big Ten Women's Indoor Track and Field Championships Honors
February 27, 2018

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference announced the 2018 Big Ten Women's Indoor Track and Field Championship award winners on Tuesday. Indiana's Katherine Reveveur earned Track Athlete of the Championships recognition. Iowa's Jahisha Thomas claimed Field Athlete of the Championships honors and Minnesota's head coach Matt Bingle was named Big Ten Coach of the Year. 

Receveur claimed both 3,000-meter and 5,000-meter crowns at last weekend's Big Ten Championships to earn 20 team points for the Hoosiers. Reveceur finished with a time of 9:11.52 in the 3,000-meter race and a time of 16:19.00 in the 5,000-meter run. Receveur is the second Indiana student to earn Athlete of the Championships in as many years.

Thomas won the long jump with a mark of 6.42 meters and the triple jump with a mark of 13.22 meters, earning 20 total points for the Hawkeyes. Thomas is the first Iowa student to claim the honor.

Bingle earns Big Ten Coach of the Year honors for the fourth time in her career. The Gophers claimed their fourth Big Ten Championships title in program history and the first since 2009 under Bingle's leadership.

The Big Ten Conference office recognizes one student from each team as Sportsmanship Award Honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the students must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. 

These students are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student from each institution at the end of the school year.

The Big Ten will announce Track Athlete of the Year, Field Athlete of the Year and Freshman of the Year following the conclusion of the NCAA Championships.

Track Athlete of the Championships
Katherine Receveur, Indiana

Field Athlete of the Championships
Jahisha Thomas, Iowa

Coach of the Year
Matt Bingle, Minnesota

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Briana Driver, Illinois
Aaliyah Armstead, Indiana
Mallory King, Iowa
Jewel Smith, Maryland
Claire Borchers, Michigan
Taylor Mullins, Michigan State
Patty O'Brien, Minnesota
Petra Luteran, Nebraska
Karrington Winters, Ohio State
Maddie Holmberg, Penn State
Carmiesha Cox, Purdue
Oniesha Clarke, Rutgers
Banke Oginni, Wisconsin