Michigan Wins Big Ten Women's Cross Country Championship
Oct. 29, 2017

2017 Big Ten Championship Results

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The Michigan women’s cross country program won its 11th Big Ten Championship on Sunday with 55 points at the IU Championship Cross Country Course. The Wolverines claimed their second Big Ten team title in a row after claiming their 10th title in 2016.

Indiana junior Katherine Receveur won the individual Big Ten Championship with an 6K time of 20:10.3. Minnesota senior Madeline Strandemo finished in second place with an 6K time of 20:13.5 and Michigan’s Jamie Morrissey placed third, crossing the finish line in 20:16.8.

Minnesota finished second in team standings with 86 points, with Strandemo’s second-place finish and Megan Hasz placing fifth crossing the line at 20:23.5. Wisconsin finished third with 100 points, led by Sarah Disanza (20:31.1) and Amy Davis (20:51.3).

Penn State finished in fourth place (107), led by Jillian Hunsberger’s time of 20:28.7, good for a seventh-place individual finish. Michigan State rounded out the top-five with 119 team points, including a ninth-place individual finish by Jeralyn Poe (20:33.1).

The first and second All-Big Ten teams can be found below. The Freshman and Coach of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, Oct. 31. Athlete of the Year will be announced the Tuesday following NCAA Championships. The top seven finishers at the Big Ten Championships earn first-team All-Big Ten honors, while the eighth through 14th place finishers are named second-team All-Big Ten.

First-Team All-Big Ten
Katherine Receveur, Indiana
Madeline Strandemo, Minnesota
Jamie Morrissey, Michigan
Gina Sereno, Michigan
Megan Hasz, Minnesota
Aubrey Roberts, Northwestern
Jillian Hunsberger, Penn State

Second-Team All-Big Ten
Sarah Disanza, Wisconsin
Jeralyn Poe, Michigan State
Bethany Hasz, Minnesota
Christine Frederick, Ohio State
Alexandra Lucki, Maryland
Maggie Farrell, Michigan State
Emma Benner, Purdue