Michigan Athlete of the Year Finalists

Big Ten Directors of Athletics approved a recommendation of the sports information directors to establish a Big Ten Athlete of the Year named for Jesse Owens, Big Ten - Jesse Owens Athlete of the Year Award beginning in 1982. Indiana track performer Jim Spivey was the initial award winner.

In 1983, the Directors of Athletics approved a separate athlete of the year award for women's athletics. In 1991-92, the women's award was renamed the Big Ten - Suzy Favor Athlete of the Year award as part of the celebration of the 10th anniversary of women's athletics in the Conference.

1982 Butch Woolfolk, football  
1983 Anthony Carter, football Sue Frederick-Foster, track/cross country
1984 Stefan Humphries, football Mary Mactaggart, tennis
1985 Barry Larkin, baseball Sue Schroeder, track/cross country
1986 Mike Hammerstein, football Cathy Schmidt, track/cross country
1987 Jim Harbaugh, football Alicia Seegert, softball
1988 *Jim Abbott, baseball Mary Fischbach, diving
1989 Glen Rice, basketball Ann Colloton, swimming
1990 Brent Lang, swimming Ann Colloton, swimming
1991 *Mike Barrowman, swimming Lisa Anderson, swimming
1992 *Desmond Howard, football Mindy Gehrs, swimming
1993 Chris Webber, basketball #Lara Hooiveld, swimming
1994 Gustavo Borges, swimming Molly McClimon, track/cross country
1995 *Tom Dolan, swimming Beth Wymer, gymnastics
1996 Tom Dolan, swimming Sara Griffin,softball
1997 Brendan Morrison, ice hockey Ann Kampfe, swimming, Kelly Holmes, softball
1998 *Charles Woodson, football #Sara Griffin, softball
1999 Justin Toman, gymnastics Katie McGregor, cross country
2000 Michael Harris, golf, Scott Vetere, gymnastics, Sarah Cain, gymnastics
2001 Anthony Thomas, football Kelli Gannon, field hockey
2002 Dan Ketchum, swimming Katie Jazwinski, track & field
2003 Nate Brannen, track & field April Fronzoni, field hockey
2004 Chris Perry, football Elise Ray, gymnastics
2005 Braylon Edwards, football Jennie Ritter, softball#
2006 Peter Vanderkaay, swimming* Jennie Ritter, softball
2007 Andrew Ellerton, track Anna Willard, track
2008 Kevin Porter, ice hockey Tiffany Ofili, track
* Big Ten Jesse Owens Athlete of the Year
# Big Ten Suzy Favor Athlete of the Year